The Falkland Islands Dependencies Survey, 1943–46

Wordie, J.M.. 1946 The Falkland Islands Dependencies Survey, 1943–46. Polar Record, 4 (32). 372-384.

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)


The Falkland Islands Dependencies are divided into two main groups; the one consisting of South Georgia with its important whaling stations together with the South Orkneys and the South Sandwich Islands, and the other of the South Shetlands and the Graham Land peninsula. Coats Land and other large land areas in the Antarctic continent itself are also included. The Dependencies were the first part of Antarctica to be brought under British control, and are defined in Letters Patent of 1908 and 1917.

Item Type: Publication - Article
Digital Object Identifier (DOI):
ISSN: 0032-2474
Date made live: 19 Feb 2020 09:36 +0 (UTC)

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item

Document Downloads

Downloads for past 30 days

Downloads per month over past year

More statistics for this item...