UK 2009-2010 repeat station report

Shanahan, Thomas J.G.; Swan, Anthony P.; Macmillan, Susan. 2012 UK 2009-2010 repeat station report [in special issue: MagNetE Workshop 2011] Annals of Geophyiscs, 55 (6), 5439. 1155-1160.

Before downloading, please read NORA policies.

Download (899kB) | Preview


The British Geological Survey is responsible for conducting the UK geomagnetic repeat station programme. Measurements made at the UK repeat station sites are used in conjunction with the three UK magnetic observatories: Hartland, Eskdalemuir and Lerwick, to produce a regional model of the local field each year. The UK network of repeat stations comprises 41 stations which are occupied at approximately 3-4 year intervals. Practices for conducting repeat station measurements continue to evolve as advances are made in survey instrumentation and as the usage of the data continues to change. Here, a summary of the 2009 and 2010 UK repeat station surveys is presented, highlighting the measurement process and techniques, density of network, reduction process and recent results.

Item Type: Publication - Article
Digital Object Identifier (DOI):
Programmes: BGS Programmes 2010 > Earth hazards and systems
Additional Keywords: geomagnetism
NORA Subject Terms: Earth Sciences
Date made live: 08 Mar 2013 14:33 +0 (UTC)

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item

Document Downloads

Downloads for past 30 days

Downloads per month over past year

More statistics for this item...