Environment Agency: Durham Permian Sections

Cooper, A.H.; Whitbread, K.; Irving, A.M.. 2007 Environment Agency: Durham Permian Sections. British Geological Survey, 48pp. (CR/07/117N) (Unpublished)

Before downloading, please read NORA policies.

Download (26MB) | Preview


This report describes six sections constructed through the Permian and Carboniferous sequence in north-east England. The main north-south section (split into two parts) extends from near Sunderland in the north to near Darlington in the south. Four east-west sections are situated in the north, centre and southern parts of the area. In addition, a short north-south section is located just to the west of Hartlepool. The sections have been constructed to a depth of 300m and created from borehole and map information compiled using the GSI3D modelling software.

Item Type: Publication - Report
Programmes: BGS Programmes 2008 > Geology and Landscape England
Funders/Sponsors: Environment Agency
Additional Information. Not used in RCUK Gateway to Research.: This report made open by author in February 2017. This item has been internally reviewed but not externally peer-reviewed
Additional Keywords: Carboniferous, Permian, Hartlepool Fault, Butterknowle Fault, folding, faulting, evaporites, anhydrite, Magnesian Limestone, Darlington, Hartlepool, Durham, Coal Measures, Zechstein, Rotliegende, 3D modelling,
NORA Subject Terms: Earth Sciences
Date made live: 16 Feb 2017 15:05 +0 (UTC)

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item

Document Downloads

Downloads for past 30 days

Downloads per month over past year

More statistics for this item...